Let me introduce myself…

My name is Carly. I’m 30 something. I just a regular Australian girl. When I say that, I don’t mean it in the cliched, naff, lame way; I’m down to earth, yes, but what I was more alluding to is the notion that I am somewhat of a nobody. I’m not famous, I’m not a socialite, I don’t even have a big social circle. I’m such a regular Jane Bloggs that if you fell over me in the street, you’d forget me after an hour.IMG_1359

I’m OK with this situation. I’m not offended. At all. I just figure I’m one of many that are like this.

This all being said, despite my ‘nobody’ status, I’ve seen, done and been involved in some truly hilarious, strange, and interesting situations that are worth sharing. This will be my platform.

But firstly, let me tell you about myself.

I’m a daughter to an amazing mum and dad. They back me up, look after me when I need it, and have a hell of a lot of fun in the process. The Mothership is a quiet, fierce and incredibly caring and compassionate mumma lion that takes no shit and has one of the funniest senses of humour. I think she does anyway. She’ll tell you she’s “fucking hilarious”. She’s been the first one to drive hours to be by my side when shit has truly hit the fan, and was the one that swept in and took action when I was really ill and needed a lot of help that I wouldn’t get for myself. She’s a fucking legend.

The Papa Bear is a Mister Fix-It who gives an incredible pep talk. He’s the first to teach my new things, like how to use a circular saw and cordless drill, or how to change my car tyres, or why my car is making that funny whiney noise again. (FYI – it’s probably the fan belt.) Like the mothership, he’s protective and isn’t afraid to show it.

I’m a sister to a boisterous and hilarious boy that seems placid, but secretly, looks after his older sibling. We look identical, just three years apart in age. We have both gotten along and fought like cats and dogs. We have exactly the same sense of humour and always tend to annoy the mother unit with our noise, and tendency to quote lame movies non-stop at the dinner table.

IMG_4202

I’m a girlfriend to an amazing man. He loves me in spite of my innumerable and, at times, irritating flaws. He’s seen me at absolute rock bottom; the only person to see me so low and still tell me in no uncertain terms that he still thinks the sun shines out of my ass. He’s caring, thoughtful, encouraging and respectful of my needs. We met at work – we’re both fitness trainers. We have share interests. We have separate interests. We laugh together. And he’s cute to boot. He is my jackpot lottery, Christmas and pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, all rolled into one.

I myself, am many things. Journalism student. Fitness Instructor. Retail Manager. Avid book collector. Believer in the healing power of crystals. Coffee addict. Observer of life. Creator of stuff. Flower sniffer. Purveyor of red wine and gin. Anxiety and depression sufferer. Ivory tinkler. Like finding the funny and metaphoric life lesson. Quietly spoken unless I’m excessively passionate. Constantly searching for something that lights my fire.

So if you want to listen to my mundane ramblingsā€¦ stay tuned.


Leave a Reply

