A day with my beloved…

Introducing Matty.    IMG_4318

My one and only. My great love. My best mate. My rock. My anchor. My missing piece.

I will tell you more about my beloved Matty later down the track but for the moment, suffice to say, I dig this kid with every fibre of my being.

We both work ridiculous rosters and as a result, our time together is limited, so it’s treated like a precious jewel. Sometimes, the best we can manage is a gym session, breakfast and nap.  Other times, all we can manage is the chores around the house and not killing each other.

Last weekend, we managed to get a day at the beach, complete with picnic, which is something we haven’t been able to do for MONTHS. We were able to explore, lay in the sun, swim in the ARCTIC water and best of all, simply, just be together.

IMG_4334 IMG_4326

This place that we visit is only a 10 minute walk from our house. We walk down possibly, the longest and steepest staircase to get there (feels longer after leg day) but the results are worth it.

We walk down a pretty little shaded bush path to get to this hidden away little beach. There’s a massive field of manicured grass and weeping willow trees ripe for picnics and touch football games and puppy playing.

IMG_4323IMG_4320

The beach itself, is little. It’s basically a little sand spit on a channel going back out to sea, so the water is FREEZING and the currents are fairly strong, but the water is also fairly shallow. It’s perfect for paddle boarding and floating in rings…

There’s awesome bushland and rocky outcrops surrounding the water which is awesome for sun baking away from people and relaxing…

IMG_4325 IMG_4321

The day could not have been more perfect. Especially when you finish the day with wine and Mexican on the balcony of our unit at sunset.

IMG_4309 IMG_4319

All the photos were taken on my phone and edited using ‘afterlight’.

Leave a Reply

